ALERT! Fighting Festive Fraud on Black Friday

ALERT! Fighting Festive Fraud on Black Friday

12 tips for Fighting Fraud this Festive Season: Be Informed, Be Alert, Be Secure – Be FraudSMART

As we approach the festive season, FraudSMART is here to ensure your safety. Both consumers and businesses need to be vigilant against frauds and scams during this busy time.

Everyone is a target especially with the increasing complexity of frauds and scams and during the festive season when we’re all busy enjoying this time of year. Fraudsters target us through various channels, including emails, social media, and phone calls.

Here are 12 essential tips to help you stay safe: 

  1. Never click on unsolicited links in texts or emails.
  2. Avoid public Wi-Fi for online purchases; use a secure connection.
  3. Keep your computer’s security up to date with reliable antivirus and browser software.
  4. Shop directly from trusted retailers’ websites. 
  5. Be cautious of unbelievable deals or miracle products.
  6. Use reputable payment suppliers or Verified by VISA/Mastercard Secure Code.
  7. Watch out for fake calls from your bank or utility companies.
  8. Purchase tickets from secure and reputable websites.
  9. Limit personal information sharing on social media. 
  10. Avoid saving passwords on your mobile device unless necessary, and protect your phone with a passcode.
  11. Your bank will never ask for your full PIN or online banking passwords. If in doubt, call your bank using the number on your card.
  12. Report any suspected fraud to your bank immediately.

Stay safe and enjoy the festive season without falling victim to scams. Be vigilant and share these tips with your loved ones to help protect them as well.

Wishing you a secure and joyful holiday season.

Credit Unions named champions for Customer Experience for unprecedented 9th consecutive year

Credit Unions named champions for Customer Experience for unprecedented 9th consecutive year

For an unprecedented ninth year running, credit unions have once again topped the league table for the best customer experience in Ireland according to the Customer Experience Insight (CXi) Report for 2023. Not only did credit unions beat 149 other organisations to retain this top position, they also further improved their already winning CX score, widening the customer experience gap between them and their rivals to achieve the highest score ever seen in the CXi Ireland survey.

Report author and CEO of The CX Company Cathy Summers said the main reason credit unions are so successful at delivering customer experience excellence on a consistent basis is because they are embedded in the community and focused on driving change to meet their customers’ needs rather than just driving change to make their organisation more efficient.

Summers said their CX record means credit unions are well placed to further compete with the banks for more complex products as well as the more
traditional financial offering.  Commenting on the announcement, David Malone, CEO of the Irish League of Credit Unions (ILCU) said that the ILCU was delighted to see the customer experience from credit unions topping the standard for companies in Ireland.

“This unprecedented ninth win is recognition of the dedication and hard work of credit union staff and volunteer directors across Ireland. Their relentless focus is always on being there for our members, for communities and uniquely when compared with our competitors, on being not-for-profit.

The credit union social ethos allows us to focus solely on how to best deliver for our existing and potential new members. This means we continue to offer a face-to-face customer experience in over 400 community locations where our 3,000 expert staff and 3,000 directors provide a professional service and essential financial supports to their members. On top of that our customers who wish to engage with us through the ever-growing credit union digital offering can choose to do so at their convenience.”

The Customer Experience Insight (CXi) Report is published annually by the CX Company based on a survey carried out on their behalf by Amárach Research. Over 29,640 experiences were evaluated using The CX Framework and performance under six key Emotional Drivers. In addition, companies were evaluated on the basis of value, affordability, willingness to pay more for a better experience, preferred channels of interaction, loyalty, whether the experience has improved and how important employees are to the customer experience.

Credit Unions ranked as Number One in 2023 RepTrak® study

Credit Unions ranked as Number One in 2023 RepTrak® study

Credit unions have been ranked as number one among the top one hundred most highly regarded organisations in Ireland, in the Ireland RepTrak® 2023 annual study. Credit Unions have consistently featured in the top two of the annual study for the past five years.

The Ireland RepTrak® 2023 annual study is based on a survey of more than 5,500 members of the public which gathered data on the levels of trust, respect, admiration and esteem they have for organisations in Ireland.

In achieving the top spot in the 2023 study, credit unions took the top spot overall as the most reputable organisation in Ireland with an excellent Reputation Pulse score of 82.8. credited with being a cornerstone of local communities with over 3.6 million members. The public acknowledged the trust that members place in their local credit union and their friendly people focused approach.

Commenting on the study, David Malone, CEO of the Irish League of Credit Unions said, “The results of the 2023 RepTrak study are a significant achievement for the credit union sector, and once again a recognition of the role that we play in communities across Ireland. We are delighted with the results, which positions us as a leader among some of the most prominent organisations and household names in Ireland.

“The RepTrak survey emphasises attributes such as trust and respect, which are core to the ethos of credit unions which are locally owned, and, or managed. With over 3,000 Credit Union employees and 2,300 volunteers, we are proud to be at the heart of communities nationwide working towards a more inclusive society, where no one is left behind.

“As we look to the future and the development of our offering to communities, this achievement is an important barometer of the sectors success to date and future opportunity for credit unions and those that we serve across Ireland”

Christmas 2022 Opening Hours

Christmas 2022 Opening Hours

Please see our opening hours over the Christmas and New Year festivities.

Newport Murroe
Friday Dec 23rd 9:30am – 5pm 10am – 4pm
24th – 28th Dec CLOSED CLOSED
Thursday 29th Dec 9:30am – 5pm CLOSED
Friday 30th Dec 9:30am – 5pm 10am – 4pm
Saturday 31st Dec 9:30am – 1pm CLOSED
Sunday 1st Jan CLOSED CLOSED
Monday 2nd Jan CLOSED CLOSED